ARC’s Mac Van Wielingen recognized for boardroom leadership

Mac Van Wielingen, founder and director of Canadian energy private equity firm ARC Financial Corp, is one of four Canadian recipients of the 2016 ICD Fellowship Award. The award, sponsored by the Institute of Corporate Directors, recognizes excellence and leadership in the boardroom. Van Wielingen founded Calgary-based ARC in 1989 and served in the roles of CEO, chair and co-chair until 2014. In addition to his current duties at ARC, he chairs the Alberta Investment Management Corp.


ICD Recognizes Four Canadian Directors for Excellence in the Boardroom

2016 ICD Fellows to be inaugurated on June 2 in Calgary

TORONTO, Jan. 13, 2016 /CNW/ – The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD), Canada’s national association representing directors and boards, is pleased to announce that the recipients of the 2016 ICD Fellowship Awards are:

•Edward Barrett – Chair, NB Power
•J. Robert Prichard, OC, OOnt, FRSC – Chair, Bank of Montreal
•Mac Van Wielingen – Founder and Director, ARC Financial Corp.
•Phyllis Yaffe, CM – Chair, Cineplex Inc.

“The ICD Fellowship Award is one of the highest honours for Canadian directors. The significant contribution of these directors to the boards of for-profit, not-for-profit and Crown organizations in Canada was an important consideration by the committee,” said Ian Bourne, Chair of the ICD Fellowship Awards Selection Committee and an ICD Fellow from 2011.

Launched in 1997, the ICD Fellowship Awards recognizes excellence and leadership in the boardroom. Nominated by their peers, the ICD Fellows are selected by an independent committee based on criteria such as leadership, accountability, contributions to governance and effectiveness.

The selection committee is composed of senior directors and past Fellows: Françoise Bertrand, Ian Bourne, Beverley Briscoe, Harold MacKay, Kate Stevenson and John Thompson. To date, the ICD has granted 77 Fellowship Awards.

Earning the designation of F.ICD, this year’s Fellows join a prestigious group comprising seasoned Canadian directors such as Jim Dinning, Chair of Western Financial Group, Russel Metals Inc., Liquor Stores NA Ltd., Monique Leroux, Chair, President and CEO of Desjardins Group and Tom O’Neill, Chair of BCE and Bell Canada, Scotiabank and St. Michael’s Hospital.

This year’s ICD Fellows will be inaugurated at the annual ICD Fellowship Awards Gala on June 2, 2016 in Calgary, which takes place in the evening after the ICD National Conference. Information on tickets to the awards gala can be found at

About The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)
The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) is the definitive ‘go-to’ resource and voice for Canada’s directors and boards in the for-profit, not-for-profit and Crown sectors. As the national community for directors, the ICD is a not-for-profit, member-based association with more than 10,000 members and a network of 11 chapters across Canada. Representing the interests of directors, the ICD fosters the sharing of knowledge and wisdom through education, professional development programs and services, and thought leadership and advocacy to achieve the highest standard of directorship. For more information, please visit:

For further information: or to arrange an interview with ICD Fellows, please contact: Ghada Slim, Institute of Corporate Directors, Tel: 1.877.593.7741, ext. 244, Email:

Photo courtesy of Alberta Investment Management Corp