Return to search

ILPA names BDC Capital’s Alison Nankivell as board chair

Alison Nankivell has been appointed chair of the board of the Institutional Limited Partner Association.

Alison Nankivell has been appointed chair of the board of the Institutional Limited Partner Association. Based in Toronto, Nankivell is a senior vice president at BDC Capital, responsible for fund investments and global scaling. Before joining BDC, she was a director, Funds Asia, at Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan.


ILPA Names 2021 – 2022 Board of Directors
June 3, 2021 (Washington, D.C.)
On June 2, 2021 during ILPA’s annual general meeting, members unanimously approved the proposed 2021-2022 Board of Directors, including a new Board Chair, 5 new Directors and 4 re-standing Directors.

Alison Nankivell, Senior Vice President of Fund Investments and Global Scaling at the Business Development Bank of Canada, has assumed the role of Board Chair after serving as an active ILPA member and Board Treasurer. New Directors include: Alicia Gregory, Future Fund; Rune Jepsen, Queensland Investment Corporation; Scott Ramsower, Teacher Retirement System of Texas; Greg Ruiz, California Public Employees’ Retirement System; and Brad Thawley, University of Texas/Texas A&M Invsetment Management Company.

“I am delighted to welcome our new Directors and to work with them and with Alison as our Chair,” noted Steve Nelson, ILPA CEO. “This group of Directors, and those returning, represent a diverse array of ILPA member LPs. In the unprecedented environment we find ourselves in, this group will undoubtedly help ILPA to continue to grow our influence in the industry globally.”

In addition to the new Board Chair, Alison Nankivell, the Re-standing Directors elected were: Michael Aswad, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation; Sonal Doshi, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board; Joe Topley, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan. Outgoing Board Directors who have successfully completed their terms include: former-Chair Neil Randall, Teacher Retirement System of Texas; Paul Mace, Tufts University Investment Office; Dennis Montz, Sentinel Trust Company; Steve Moseley, Alaska Pernament Fund Corporation; and Scott Penwell, M&G Alternatives.

“I am excited to continue to actively contribute to the ILPA community as Chair,” newly elected ILPA Board Chair Alison Nankivell shared. “In particular I am excited to see ILPA continue to help influence the private equity industry to become more diverse and more sustainable thereby strengthening it for LPs and their beneficiaries all around the world.”