Sidenote: Casual Restaurant Specialization

As an extension of my previous look at private equity investments in casual restaurants, I’ve compiled an in-comprehensive list of about 30 current private equity investments in the sub-sector. Important to note: Some of these may walk the line between casual and upscale; I tried my best to filter. Lastly, some of the listed entities acted as debt providers for the buyout in question.

In alphabetical order:
Acon Investments: Peter Piper Pizza aconinvestments.com
Allied Capital: Huddle House alliedcapital.com
Bain Capital: OSI Restaurant Partners baincapital.com
Bay Harbour Management: Planet Hollywood bayharbour.com
Black Canyon Capital: Fazoli’s Restaurants blackcanyoncapital.com
Bruckmann, Rosser Sherrill & Co: Logan’s Roadhouse brs.com
Capital Point Partners: Rockfish Seafood Grill cappoint.com
Castle Harlan: Perkins & Marie Callender’s Inc, Bravo Development Inc castleharlan.com
Catterton Partners: Cheddar’s Holding Corp, OSI Restaurant Partners cpequity.com
Centre Partners Management: Garden Fresh Restaurant Corp. centrepartners.com
Centrum Equities: Shoney’s
Charter Private Equity: Rockfish Seafood Grill
Cordova, Smart & Williams: Eateries Inc cswprivateequity.com
G&R Acquisition: Max & Erma’s
GarMark Partners: Baja Fresh garmark.com
Goode Partners: Rosa Mexicano Co goodepartners.com
J.H. Whitney: Joe’s Crab Shack whitney.com
Jacobson Partners: Bertucci’s jacobsonpartners.com
Kinderhook Industries: bd’s Mongolian Grill kinderhookindustries.com
Lone Star Funds: Del Friscos, Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon lonestarfunds.com
M Plus Capital: Baja Fresh mpluscapital.com
Milestone Partners: Fatz Café milestonepartners.com
Newcastle Partners: Fox & Hound newcastle-partners.com
Oak Investment Partners: Cheddar’s Holding Corp, P.F. Chang’s, Baja Fresh oakinv.com
Pacific Equity Partners: Sizzler USA pep.com.au Wait nevermind, that was postponed.
Pharos Capital Group: Back Yard Burgers pharosfunds.com
RedZone Capital: Johnny Rockets
Restaurant Acquisitions Partners: Oregano’s Pizza Bistro
Sun Capital: Fazoli’s Restaurants, Real Mex Restaurants, Smoky Bones Barbeque & Grill, Friendly Ice Cream Corporation, Garden Fresh Restaurants, Restaurants Unlimited suncappart.com
Waterview Capital: Eateries Inc
White Oak Capital Partners: Rockfish Seafood Grill whiteoakcapital.net
Yucaipa Company: Picadilly Restaurants

Previously: 

***The Dangers of Specialization: Casual Restaurant Edition

***Are Specialized Funds Still Special? Consumer Products Edition